Writing and praying behind closed doors: 1) Connections and conversations

Dear lovely readers,

Cautiously I have decided to publish a series of posts on a personal subject close to my heart. I started thinking about it when I read a post by Mamasongs which was talking about Guidance from God. Sadly I have just discovered that this Blog has been deleted by the author.   I commented on her post that sometimes I find guidance from God a tricky business.

Another source of inspiration is from Kath in her post: Behind closed doors. I have pinched part of the title of that post for my series. She quoted from Stephen King:

“Write with the door closed, rewrite with the door open”

https://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/44166318/

Post: Behind closed doors

The pieces I am thinking of publishing I wrote some time ago in order to process what was happening at the time. I wrote them behind closed doors. When I read Kath’s post I commented:

Before I read your post I had decided to write the series of short posts (they only need editing) and then to see how they look and how I feel before I take the plunge to publish them on my Blog.
And why am I considering publishing them? Because I want to connect with people who may be in a similar position to me to know they are not alone. And to let others know what it is like to seek guidance and not get the answer I want and not understand and yet still be grateful that whatever happens I am loved by God. Also it might be a kind of completion for me. Thank you for your post and unexpectedly encouraging me in my musings.

I have equally been encouraged by Lemonadelife and her comments to me during a conversation on her post peripheral woman:

https://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/74608658/

Post:The peripheral woman

She wrote back to me:

“I’ve been reading your last few posts and I think those times of “you popping up in it” are some of your most powerful moments. You direct people to Jesus by your honest testimony.”

I hope you will find my series of posts reflect my honesty. Remember I wrote them either for myself or a few close friends and family. At the time I did not dream of publishing them for a wider audience. I wrote in order to think.

Paul was an inspiration too in the many posts he talks about prayer. I am not particularly great at prayer. Sometimes I don’t properly talk to God for days on end, and yet He still walks with me.

https://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/40277979/

Post: Let us pray

Melissa, who is having a much-needed break at the moment, also was kind and gracious in her comments to me. Hers was a different story to mine in “God is a God of fertility”. I am pleased for her outcome.

https://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/69979804/

Post: God is a God of fertility

Heather too influenced my decision in her post “Hearing Voices“and I am including prayers which I had not thought to include at the beginning.

https://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/30004891/

Post: Hearing voices

Although I am naming the above, there are others I have met in the Blogging world already who have given me courage and confidence. I am writing and sharing for you too.

I hope when you read what I have written it will all make sense.

About Gentle Breeze

Julia is married to Kevin. They live together in Todmorden with their black and white cat Willow. Todmorden is a small rural town nestling among the Pennine hills in the Upper Calder Valley, on the border of West Yorkshire and Lancashire. Julia is a mixture of contradictions. She happily shares her email address with her husband; yet when she married she kept her own surname.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing and praying behind closed doors: 1) Connections and conversations

  1. paulfg says:

    That is an enticing trailer!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

