Resurrection

Portugal (Holiday 2008) 014

Resurrection

At sunrise in the garden

Kind love met Mary Magdalene

She had no expectation of seeing

The dead man walking

Alive

After his recent encounter with death.

Sightless with grief

Joyfully she knew him

Only when in tenderness

He called her by name.

 

Behind locked doors they cowered

Frightened for their own lives

And for his final hours

Filled with shame for not being there for him

Knowing that almost to a man they had fled.

Love that keeps no record of wrongs

Appeared

Within the midst of them

And with his greeting “Peace be with you”

Perfect love

Cast out all fear.

 

Thomas not being there in the chamber

Proclaimed that only through physical touch

Would he believe.

Patient Love,

Not easily angered

Knew what he demanded

And respectful love let Thomas

Touch the scars

Recently made,

More recently healed.

 

Perplexed companions travelled on a  journey

Away from the horror of that Passover week.

Love, that rejoices with the truth

And does not delight in evil

Walked with them.

And when invited in

To sup with them

Gracious love blessed them

With the breaking of the bread.

 

Rudderless and without direction

After a fruitless night of fishing

They headed back for shore

Love,

That celebrates the success of another

Shouted a suggestion

Guiding them to water

Where they made a large haul.

 

Thrilled and astonished

They turned with recognition

To waiting, silent Love

Preparing a fire

To grill their catch of fish.

Impulsive Peter

Enthusiastic as ever

Splashed out ahead of them

Abandoning the boat

In his excitement to greet.

 

Love, who is closer to us than we are to ourselves,

Took Peter to one side

To remove his fear of failure

In the morning sunlight;

Merciful Love

Ate with him, talked with him

Three times forgiving him;

Empowering love named him

The Rock for all time.

 

And what are our stories

Of Love of the Resurrection?

The stories of Love

That always protects, always trusts,

Always hopes, always perseveres;

Simply he states I will be with

Always

To the very end of the Age

Forever and ever,

Always.

 

Amen

 

(Julia Coughlan)

 

( My poem/prayer is inspired by the risen encounters in the gospel stories of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. It was also inspired by 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 (NIV):

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”)

 

What then is your encounter with the love of the risen Lord?

IMG_0022a

As I travel through life, sometimes I am walking or skipping, sometimes I stumble and fall, occasionally I am tripped. I have my own stories of Resurrection, often realising in hindsight that the person of Love has met me, a moment that if I blinked I would miss it. Love meets me in my individual need, both in the trivial and the terrible. Love is gentle, not intrusive and the fleeting moment may seem unremarkable to anyone but me. Here are a few of my examples. Please tell me some of yours.

Specific moments:

Broken hearted in a forest after a relationship break up, love , silent and patient, lifted my gaze and my spirits when a fox trotted by me unaware of my presence and delighted me that he was there.

After making a public fool of myself while on holiday having lost and found my purse for the tenth time that week; scolded by words of a companion for wasting so much time; I waited behind. Patient love was a small bird singing strongly in a bush beside me, chasing my tears away.

The glory of a beautiful sunset which turned my head with delight and I found the key we had lost.

Anguish on a Saturday night, alone and lonely, feeling less than lovely and no-one at home to my telephone call.(This was a time before mobile phone use; texting and social media) The next morning a passage from the Bible spoke directly to me in my distress. No-one-else knew but the presence behind Love heard my cry.

Screaming at Love with confusion and dashed dreams of a child, yet finding comfort from words on a website when I discover its ok to grieve even at the beginning of lives lost in early miscarriage.

An ongoing situation: 

When Love seems far away and my path unclear, learning to take baby steps, hour by hour, day by day, until the fog lifts to reveal short distances ahead:

Being given unexpectedly good advice from an unexpected source to pierce the gloom of depression in the nick of time;

A picture of Jesus looking at me with compassion, when those surrounding us are too scared for themselves; are indifferent or full of blame of me. Over several weeks, I learnt to look into the merciful eyes of Jesus rather than the accusing faces surrounding him and his Love covered my shame of continuing failure.

A chance request from a friend, leading me to discover my diagnosis of dyspraxia after years of struggle at work and play; bringing relief, understanding and advocacy; and courage to persevere.

In day-to-day life:

An uplifting walk amongst my beloved nature;

A word spoken on pause for thought or thought for the day;

A random encounter with just the right person at just the right time.

Knowledge that I am Loved and the prayers and friendship of those closest to me.

Resurrection Love is not an instant quick fix:

I experience sadness too, dreams shattered, silence sometimes to my desperate prayers and confusion as to why things do or don’t happen. This is life in a broken world and I am not immune to that too. I have scars deep and penetrating which sometimes can be scratched open.

We are blest and we are wounded, as we walk alongside each other. We learn and help each other when we are able to reach out and share our thoughts, aspirations, fun and sadness as companions on the way.

IMG_0024a

“If love should count you worthy, and should deign

One day to seek your door and be your guest,

Pause! ere you draw the bolt and bid him rest,

If in your old content you would remain,

For not alone he enters;…

 

He wakes desires you never may forget,

He shows you stars you never saw before.

He makes you share with him, for evermore,

The burden of the world’s divine regret.

How wise you were to open not! and yet,

How poor if you should turn him from the door!”

(Second half of The Penalty of Love by Sidney Royse Lysaght)

IMG_0031a

Suggested Music: What a Wonderful World sung by Louis Armstrong

IMG_0037

Blessing

Deep peace of the running wave to you

Deep peace of the flowing air to you

Deep peace of the quiet earth to you

Deep peace of the shining stars to you

Deep peace of the Son of Peace to you

Amen

 

 

About Gentle Breeze

Julia is married to Kevin. They live together in Todmorden with their black and white cat Willow. Todmorden is a small rural town nestling among the Pennine hills in the Upper Calder Valley, on the border of West Yorkshire and Lancashire. Julia is a mixture of contradictions. She happily shares her email address with her husband; yet when she married she kept her own surname.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Reflections, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Resurrection

  1. jannatwrites says:

    Beautiful post! The resurrection always captures my interest – how amazing it would’ve been to witness it firsthand, hardly believing what they saw! There are signs of God’s love all around, sometimes I’m too wrapped up in myself to notice, but other times, there is a word of encouragement or affirmation that comes at just the right time… I know it’s more than coincidence.

    • Thank you. I am glad that you agree that there are often subtle signs of God’s love around us. I like you can be too pre-occupied to notice.Yet when I do it is life affirming.

  2. paulfg says:

    Reblogged this on Just me being curious and commented:
    Gentle Breeze aka Julia, wrote this back in May. Love connected us in August. Tonight I read this post. They say a dog is not just for Christmas. Well this post is not just for Easter.

    “Perfect Love. Cast out all fear”

    The answer is always Love, so get a-reading this post. 🙂

  3. paulfg says:

    This is an all-year, ever day, carry with you kind of post!!

  4. Thank you Paulfg. Thank you for your comments and for reblogging my post. I appreciate being found and affirmed. Thank you is all I can say.

  5. realchange4u says:

    Love is the masters touch and healing hand at work in my soul and I don’t even know he is there, except for being abel to breath with out sobbing.Or my mind resting in peace for a moment and a smile on my lips for a second. Healing love holding my tears in his hands. pulling me close. No words spoken. Just know its real love.

  6. Thank you for sharing your Resurrection experiences from deep in your heart.

  7. lemonadelife says:

    This is exquisite. I love how each stanza captured a snapshot of Jesus’ resurrection. That God sent His only Son to die for us even while we were still sinners leaves me beyond humbled! Thank you for sharing your own personal experiences with God’s love. He has given you such a heart of compassion and a deep passion for Him. Thank you for inspiring us!! Blessings

Leave a Reply

